Carillon Barracks National Historic Site
Carillon Barracks National Historic Site is temporarily closed to visitors due to operational restructuring.
The Argenteuil Regional Museum (French only) is relocated for an indefinite period.
The Carillon Barracks (now known as Carillon Barracks National Historic Site) was built between 1832 and 1837 for Charles John Forbes, an officer in the British Army Quartermaster's Office. It’s located at the entrance of the Carillon village on the banks of the Ottawa River.
The building was used as a lodge for soldiers, private accommodation and a hotel.
More places to discover with Parks Canada
Watch boats pass through the Carillon Canal lock, navigating a 20-metre drop in a single operation. Stop in at the museum to inspect an interpretive panel about the history of the Ottawa River’s 19th century travellers.
Today, there is little sign of the military occupation - after the garrison departed, the building was renovated and served as a hotel for travellers. Since 1940, it has housed the Argenteuil Regional Museum.
- Date modified :