Indigenous Cultural Heritage Advisory Council

The Indigenous Cultural Heritage Advisory Council (the Council) provides advice to Parks Canada on cultural heritage-related projects or initiativesFootnote 1, with the goal of advancing reconciliation and supporting the Agency in managing the heritage places in its care in the spirit of the United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples.

The Council advises Parks Canada on policy, programs and initiatives related to history and heritage, including presentation of history at sites managed by Parks Canada, designations and commemorations, archaeology, collections and repatriation, and the management of cultural resources.

Members of the Council:

The Council is made up of eight (8) Indigenous representatives (including a representative from the Indigenous Heritage Circle and supported by Parks Canada through a secretariat function. The secretariat function sits with the Executive Director, Cultural Heritage, Parks Canada.

Members of ICHAC

  1. Andrew Carrier, Métis, Manitoba
  2. Catherine C. Cole, Métis, Alberta
  3. Lisa Prosper, Mi’kmaq, Ontario and Yukon
  4. Louis Lesage, Huron Wendat First Nation, Québec
  5. Joella Hogan, Na-Cho Nyäk Dun Nation, Yukon
  6. Daniel Sims, Tsay Keh Dene First Nation, British Columbia
  7. Nola Markey, Saulteaux Nation, Treaty 2 territory, Manitoba
  8. Emily Angulalik, Inuinnait, Cambridge Bay, Nunavut

The Council acts as an advisory body on cultural heritage to Parks Canada. The members were selected as the result of an open call for expressions of interest.

Members of the Council contribute their experience and expertise to the work of the Council independently and not on behalf of any particular association, political body, firm or other organization to which they may belong.

Parks Canada continues to engage with other Indigenous peoples, communities and organizations on various files, as appropriate.

Contact information

Should you have questions or comments, please email

Date modified :