Stewardship and management
Coteau-du-Lac National Historic Site
Site management at Coteau-du-Lac National Historic Site of Canada
Coteau-du-Lac National Historic Site of Canada Management Plan 2018
Management Plan Implementation Annual Update, 2020
The purpose of this annual update is to share 2019 achievements with the public. 2019 was a successful year : the site attracted 4,781 visitors, a 6,7%...
Coteau-du-Lac National Historic Site partners description.
If you are ready to inspire Canadians to develop a strong sense of connection to their protected and special heritage sites, an exceptional experience...
Contact us! Information to contact Coteau-du-Lac National Historic Site.
Located between Lake St. François and Lake St. Louis, the “Coteau rapids” are the narrowest and most turbulent of all the rapids along the route, a spot where voyageurs had to portage their canoes. Around 1750, a “rigolet” canal was built to facilitate the transport of furs from trading posts.
Later, while the American Revolution was raging, rebel forces invaded Canada. The British had difficulty resupplying their troops who were protecting the border near the Great Lakes. A canal had to be built.
In 1781, the Coteau-du-Lac canal went into operation, making it possible to bypass the two-metre vertical drop of the rapids. From the moment it opened, the canal served both military and commercial purposes.
After it was replaced by the Beauharnois canal in 1845, the fortified Coteau-du-Lac canal was finally abandoned by the military in 1856. The site then served several different purposes until it was declared a site of national historic significance in 1923 and opened to the public in 1967.
- Date modified :