The system of national parks of Canada

Parks Canada’s long-term goal is to establish at least one national park in each of Canada’s terrestrial regions. The system, which is 79 percent complete, represents the diversity of natural regions and landscapes in Canada. Forty-seven national parks represent 31 of Canada’s 39 terrestrial regions, and protect approximately 342,456 square kilometres of Canada’s lands.

The purpose of Figure 1 is to identify the 39 terrestrial regions of Canada including whether or not they are presently represented by a national park.

Canada's 39 terrestrial regions are as follows:

In the Western Mountains, there are:

  1. Pacific Coast Mountains, represented
  2. Strait of Georgia Lowlands, represented
  3. Interior Dry Plateau, not represented
  4. Columbia Mountains, represented
  5. Rocky Mountains, represented
  6. Northern Coast Mountains, represented
  7. Northern Interior Plateaux and Mountains, not represented
  8. Mackenzie Mountains, represented
  9. Northern Yukon, represented

In the Interior Plains, there are:

  1. Mackenzie Delta, represented
  2. Northern Boreal Plains, represented
  3. Southern Boreal Plains and Plateaux, represented
  4. Prairie Grasslands, represented
  5. Manitoba Lowlands, not represented

In the Canadian Shield, there are:

  1. Tundra Hills, represented
  2. Central Tundra, represented
  3. Northwestern Boreal Uplands, represented
  4. Central Boreal Uplands, represented
  5. Great Lakes – St. Lawrence Precambrian Region, represented
  6. Laurentian Boreal Highlands, not represented
  7. East Coast Boreal Region, represented
  8. Boreal Lake Plateau, not represented
  9. Whale River, not represented
  10. Northern Labrador Mountains, represented
  11. Ungava Tundra Plateau, not represented
  12. Northern Davis Region, represented

In the Hudson Bay Lowlands, there are:

  1. Hudson–James Lowlands, represented
  2. Southampton Plain, not represented

In the St. Lawrence Lowlands there are:

  1. 29a. West St. Lawrence Lowland, represented
  2. 29b. Central St. Lawrence Lowland, represented
  3. 29c. East St. Lawrence Lowland, represented

In the Appalachian Region, there are:

  1. Notre Dame-Megantic Mountains, represented
  2. Maritime Acadian Highlands, represented
  3. Maritime Plain, represented
  4. Atlantic Coast Uplands, represented
  5. Western Newfoundland Highlands, represented
  6. Eastern Newfoundland Atlantic Region, represented

In the Arctic Lowlands, there are:

  1. Western Arctic Lowlands, represented
  2. Eastern Arctic Lowlands, represented

In the High Arctic Islands, there are:

  1. Western High Arctic, represented
  2. Eastern High Arctic, represented


Date modified :